With life events that happened in the past year, I feel these events changed my whole perspective on life. Not that I wasn’t a good person before, but feel that my priorities have shifted tremendously leading me to want to help and give more and to always know how important and precious the lives of our children are and wanting to provide the best opportunities for them.

Around Christmas time I was emailed a quote from a friend. She stated that this quote reminded her of me and what I was doing in helping to advocate the life of our best friends’ baby girl, Aubrey Joy. I realized then that I never wanted to be recognized for what I was doing for sweet Aubrey and that I would have done the same thing  if my name remained anonymous. But this quote made me realize helping others wasn’t over for me, that this should always be a major part of my life.

Here is the quote:

“You have not lived until you have done something for someone who can never repay you.” – John Bunyon

This is probably why the new show Secret Millionaire hits a chord with me and gets me teary eyed every time I watch it. I love the fact that one person can change the lives of many. And you don’t have to be a millionaire to achieve this…

But getting back to the review here, this is just another way that people are helping others without getting anything in return, just knowing that what they are doing is making a difference – especially in the lives of our youth.

Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library

Did you know that if you have children under age five and live in participating areas, your child will receive a free book each month in the mail? It’s True!

Dolly started this program to  foster a love of reading among her county’s preschool children and their families. She wanted children to be excited about books and to feel the magic that books can create. Moreover, she could insure that every child would have books, regardless of their family’s income. Now this program has grown across the country, Canada and the United Kingdom.

No matter what your income, if you live in a participating county, your child from birth to age five will receive a book in the mail each month, in their name. So if you start the program when they are born (like we are doing with Tanner), he will get a total of  60 free books! Brody gets very excited when he gets a new book wrapped in plastic. These books are age appropriate for them depending on their birth date, so if you have multiple children with multiple ages, they each get their own unique book to read, not all of the same.

The first book every child receives however is The Little Engine that Could, the last book on their fifth birthday is Look Out Kindergarten, Here I come.

Participating communities must make the program accessible to all preschool children in their area. The community pays for the books and mailing, promotes the program, registers the children, and enters the information into the database. If your community is not on the list, there is a form you can fill out to request that this program come to the area. A big thank you to the participating communities, especially Eaton County United Way that supports the children in my community.

Want to know if you community participates in this program, you can check it out at http://www.imaginationlibrary.com. If so, make sure to sign up your children and grandchildren (if the children live in a participating community) so they too can enjoy getting a book in the mail each month.

Are your children already participating, or plan on signing up? Leave a comment with what you think about the Imagination Library. We would love to hear it!

